Mostly Summer Vol 74 playlist

Hour 1

The Allman Brothers Band was an American rock band formed in Macon, Georgia, in 1969 by brothers Duane Allman (founder, slide guitar and lead guitar) and Gregg Allman (vocals, keyboards, songwriting), as well as Dickey Betts (lead guitar, vocals, songwriting), Berry Oakley (bass guitar), Butch Trucks (drums), and Jai Johanny “Jaimoe” Johanson (drums). The band incorporated elements of blues, jazz, and country music, Stand Back: The Anthology is a compilation album by the Allman Brothers Band, released in 2004

Track: Ramblin’ Man

The Avett Brothers are an American folk rock band from Concord, North Carolina. The band is made up of two brothers, Scott Avett and Seth Avett, The Carpenter is the seventh studio album by folk rock group The Avett Brothers.2012

Track: Live and Die

Lynyrd Skynyrd is an American rock band best known for popularizing the Southern rock genre during the 1970s, Lynyrd Skynyrd: The Collection Released: 2001

Track: Swamp Music

The Doobie Brothers are an American rock band from San Jose, California. The group has sold more than 40 million albums worldwideThey have been active for nearly five decades, with their greatest success in the 1970s. World Gone Crazy is the thirteenth studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers, released on September 28, 2010.

Track: Far From Home


The Marshall Tucker Band is an American rock band from Spartanburg, South Carolina. Noted for incorporating blues, country and jazz into its eclectic sound, The Marshall Tucker Band helped establish the Southern rock genre in the early 1970s, Face Down in the Blues, released in the summer of 1998,

Track: Like Good Music

Long May You Run is a studio album credited to the Stills–Young Band, a collaboration between Stephen Stills and Neil Young, released in 1976

Track: Long may You Run

Wet Willie is a versatile, high-energy Southern rock band that, from 1971 until 1978,

Wet Willie  Release date: 1971

Track: Have a Good Time

Little Feat is an American rock band formed by singer-songwriter, lead vocalist and guitarist Lowell George and keyboardist Bill Payne in 1969 in Los Angeles, Sailin’ Shoes is the second studio album by the American rock band Little Feat, released in 1972.

Track: Easy To Slip

Desperado is the second studio album by the American band the Eagles. It was recorded at Island Studios in London, England and released in 1973

Track: Certain Kind of fool (Randy Meisner on vocals)


The Drive-By Truckers are an alternative country/Southern rock band based in Athens, Georgia. English Oceans is the 10th studio album by American Southern rock band Drive-By Truckers, released on March 4, 2014

Track: First air of Autumn.

Leon Russell was an American musician and songwriter, 2013        Snapshot

Track:  I Love the way you love me

The Outlaws, 3rd LP HURRY SUNDOWN

Track: Hurry Sundown

Already Free is the sixth studio album by The Derek Trucks Band. It was released in the United States on January 13, 2009

Track: Something to make you happy

Hour 2

Hollow Haze – “I Will Be There” from album Between Wild Landscapes and Deep Blue Seas

A slow-building ballad from the seventh studio album by an Italian metal band from Vicenza.. Album out now.

Jesse Malin – “Meet Me at the End of the World Again” from album Sunset Kids

The American rock musician will release his eighth solo album on 30th August. He started young – very young – around aged 12 when he fronted teen-punk band Heart Attack in 1980.

Tegan and Sara (Quin) – “I’ll Be Back Someday” from album Hey, I’m Just Like You

These are Canadian identical twin sisters Tegan and Sara Quin, who have been writing and making music together since age 15 (which would have been around 1995) and released their first album just three years later. This will be their ninth studio album, which features re-recordings of some of their unreleased early songs. The album is out of 27th September.

The 69 Eyes – “Cheyenna” from album West End

a Finnish band! Formed in Helsinki back in 1989 they have released eleven studio albums, the last five of which went Top 5 in Finland. Their twelfth album is set for release on 13th September.


Beth Hart – “War in My Mind” from album War in My Mind

The American singer-songwriter will return with her ninth solo album on 27th September. Much of her material comes from her own life struggle, which has seen her battle drug addiction and bi-polar disorder. Goodness knows what she’s going on about here, but she does it with gusto.

Altered Five Blues Band – “Ten Thousand Watts” from album Ten Thousand Watts

An American blues outfit from Milwaukee fronted by the larger than life Jeff Taylor. Their sixth album is set for release on 6th September. They will be playing some live shows later this year in Switzerland.

Robbie Robertson – “I Hear You Paint Houses” from album Sinematic

The Canadian singer-songwriter’s name is still associated with The Band, despite his formal association with them ending in 1977. Since then he’s produced and written for others, done film work and recorded five solo albums. Coming eight years after 2011’s How to Become Clairvoyant his sixth album will be released on 20th September. This (fairly odd) song is the only (known) collaborative one on the album and features ‘Mr Collaboration’ Van Morrison.

Sheryl Crow & Chris Stapleton  “Tell Me When It’s Over” from album Threads

Here’s another from what is supposed to be the American singer-songwriter’s final studio album. It has many guests, including fellow singer-songwriter Chris Stapleton who co-wrote this song with Ms. Crow. The album will be released on 30th August.


Allan Clarke – “Long Cool Woman’s Back in Town” from album Resurgence

This is the ex-Hollies singer who at the ripe old age of 77 has decided to come out of self imposed retirement (since 1999 due to throat problems) and record his ninth solo album – his first in nearly 30 years. It’s due on 20th September.

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – “Make It Look So Easy” from album Dragon

An Americana band from Memphis and East Nashville, Tennessee with a track from their ninth studio album. The release date is 11th October

Phil Lanzon – “In the Rain” from album 48 Seconds

The Uriah Heep keyboard player (since 1986) has been on the music scene since the age of 16 (in 1966) when he joined a band called The Loose Ends. Since then he’s hardly had any loose ends, being a session player and side-man to a whole ‘heep’ (wrongly spelt pun intended) of other musicians and bands. So busy is he that he only got to record his debut solo album If You Think I’m Crazy! in 2017. This is the follow-up, which was released on 2nd August.

Show of Hands – “Lost” from album Battlefield Dance Floor

Steve Knightley and Phil Beer released their debut album 32 years ago in 1987 (yes it was that long ago!). This will be their eighteenth when it sees the light of day on 27th September.